All-Ireland SFC Final Countdown – 2004 Kerry v Mayo

Kerry v Mayo

Today we take a look back at the All-Ireland Final from 10 years ago – 2004 when Kerry beat Mayo 1-20 to 2-09.

Kerry put in a powerful performance against Mayo in this final, in what was Colm Cooper’s first All-Ireland Senior final victory.

1-05 for Cooper on the day along with the eight points scored by captain Dara Ó Cinnéide saw Kerry earn an eight point win.

Mayo found the net with an Alan Dillon goal early in the game and the talented Ciarán McDonald added another point shortly after but Kerry were composed throughout and set about dominating the play from then on.

Despite being without injured leaders Darragh Ó Sé and Séamus Moynihan, who later came on, Kerry were too good for Mayo on the day. From defence to attack, too many of their players had stand-out games for Mayo to be able to handle.

Kerry lead by eight at half-time and full-time as their class and speed kept Mayo at arm’s length.